As an academic institution, it is the Library’s mission to promote and foster the teaching and learning mission of the College. With this in mind, the Library welcomes gifts of materials which strengthen the collection and support the College’s educational programs.
Upon receipt, gifts become the unrestricted property of the LBCC Library. Donations are irrevocable. The Library reserves the right to determine the course of action with donated materials. Items not added to the collection may be offered to other libraries, charities or otherwise disposed of as deemed fit by the Library.
The Library reserves the right to refuse any gift or conditions of donation if the restrictions are incompatible with the Library's mission and Collection Development Policy.
Kindly, do not drop off donations to either campus library without prior arrangement and without pre-screening.
It is heartwarming when generous donors think of the LBCC Library. We would love to be able to accept all gifts, however the LBCC Library is not an archival or research library. We cannot accept all donations.
The Library accepts gift materials, such as books or DVDs that are recently published and relevant to the subject areas collected by the Library. This includes materials that support College curricula, aid in student research and Long Beach City College or Long Beach City history books and materials.
The LBCC Library cannot use and, therefore, will not accept:
Materials in poor physical condition, such as missing pages, loose binding, discolored pages, discolored top or bottom edges, brittle, moldy or infested;
Outdated, preview copy or instructor’s copy textbooks;
Older mass-market or trade paperback fiction books more than 1 year old;
Duplicate copies of low use items or materials that do not fit with the subjects collected to support the College curricula;
Most textbooks (please email to inquire);
Titles already owned, unless in high demand or a special edition;
Superseded legal, medical, computer, technology, or other professional books more than 2 years old;
Outdated exam preparation books more than 1 year old;
Most foreign language publications in languages not included in the curriculum;
History books more than 10 years old;
Other books more than 5 years old; and
Media in obsolete or obsolescent formats, such as VHS, CD & CD-ROM.
Please complete the Donation Form (https://forms.office.com/r/SE990ej69Y) prior to making a donation.
If you would like to request a Letter of Acknowledgement, please complete the Donation Form.
A gift acknowledgment letter will be emailed or mailed to you within two weeks of receipt of the physical donations only if the donations are/will be added to the Library collection. The Letter of Acknowledgment will indicate your name, the date of the donation and the number of items donated only. If you would like itemized documentation of your gift we kindly request that you provide the list of titles you have donated.
There will be no acknowledgement of donations that are brought to the Library without prior arrangement and without pre-screening. Such items will be donated or disposed of in the most cost-effective manner possible when they are not accepted.
Gift value is established by the donor. No formal or informal valuation can be provided by the Library.
In accordance with Internal Revenue Service regulations, a donor claiming a tax donation for a charitable contribution worth over $500 must file FORM 8283 to qualify for the deduction. Donors of gifts over $5,000 must file FORM 8283 AND have the gift appraised by a certified appraiser. FORM 8283 is available at: https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8283.pd
View the IRS website for a comprehensive section on gift substantiation at https://www.irs.gov/charities-non-profits/substantiating-charitable-contributions.
Donate money directly to the LBCC Foundation and designate the Library & Learning Resources Associates (LLRA) as the recipient of the gift.
Please note that you may honor an individual or an organization by making a donation to purchase books and/or media in honor of, or in memory of. Such items can bear a bookplate naming the honoree when the donation exceeds $200.
Substantial gifts of money (over $5,000.00) are recognized with suitable formality, such as a letter of recognition signed by the Academic Affairs Vice President, Library Dean and Library Department Head.
When funds are donated or bequeathed to an academic department with a designation to purchase books and/or media that will be added to the Library collection to support that department’s programs, the Collection Development Librarian will collaborate closely with the donor and department faculty in accordance with established collection guidelines. However, the Library alone shall have final discretion over the selection of the purchases.
By check: Make checks payable to: “LBCC Foundation.” Send to LBCC
Foundation, 4901 E. Carson St., Long Beach, CA 90808, Mail code B-12. Designate the LBCC Library as the recipient in the memo line.
By credit card (Visa, American Express, and MasterCard):
Donations can be made online at: http://www.lbcc.edu/Foundation/ or, https://app.etapestry.com/onlineforms/LongBeachCityCollegeFoundatio/Donate.html
Click on “Make a Donation”
Designate the Library/Learning Resources Associates (LLRA) as the recipient using the drop-down box.
Include LBCC Library as the designee and any instructions related to your gift in the “comments” box that will appear during check out.
