LBCC LibGuides: 1. Start Your Research: Databases for Topics

Topic-Specific Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Use this database for current events research. Known for its unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Especially useful is its pro/con section, which provides opposing viewpoints on controversial issues. There are 44 reports each year, including four expanded reports.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
One of a few databases dedicated to controversial topics, Issues and Controversies offers an easy to understand summary of the differing perspectives on controversial topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. In addition to articles, it provides court cases, editorials and media as sources of information.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Use this database to study controversial social issues. Includes presentations of opposing viewpoints, as well as the option to find primary sources. The "view related documents" and "view related subjects" options help you expand or narrow your search.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Use this database for your study of controversial social issues. Browse a list of issues or search your own, getting access to "viewpoint" articles, essays and editorials written by credible sources. This source also helps you in your studies by providing critical thinking questions and points regarding each topic.
Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Taylor & Francis Online - Social Science and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
This database covers the Social Sciences and Humanities including Anthropology, Archaeology and Heritage, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Strategic, Defence & Security Studies. Search articles by author, keyword, DOI, and citation, or search journals by subject.

Diversity & Ethnic Studies - EBSCO Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
ProQuest Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This database is part of the Ebook Central College Complete collection that includes thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents are presented from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.
UNESCO: World Inequality Database on Education This link opens in a new window
Looks at education statistics through the indicators of wealth, gender, ethnicity, and location throughout the world.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This gender studies database provides historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. In addition, GenderWatch focuses on providing non-mainstream perspectives. Database searching includes a helpful thesaurus function you can use in your keyword searches.
Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (U.S.) This link opens in a new window
Statistical data related to criminal justice
Career Cruising This link opens in a new window
This database can be used for personal exploration of potential careers, or to research labor market information. This resource provides tools to help you discover your skills and interests and what careers to explore. It also teaches practical skills such as financial literacy and goal-setting through video interviews, role-playing activities, and more.
Career OneStop from the US Dept. of Labor This link opens in a new window
Your source for career exploration, training & jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. A proud partner of the American job center network.
DMV Driving Tests This link opens in a new window
This supplemental resource for the DMV driving test provides practice tests and an exam simulator for car driving, motorcyclists, and for commercial driver’s licenses (CDL). The site also translates to Spanish or Russian.
To help achieve this goal, the company has also created driving practice sites for the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, India and Canada.
O*NET OnLine This link opens in a new window
Geared towards vocational careers, this database provides access to information in a variety of ways. Search by job, industry, job outlook. work values, skills and even specific tools used. Also includes a job accommodations section with information for workers with disabilities.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
A governmental source, The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides statistical information on an extensive list of careers. Focused more on profiles and less on career guidance, use this information for statistics on job growth and salaries, as well as overviews of work environment and education required.
PrepSTEP for Colleges (EBSCO LearningExpress) This link opens in a new window
Geared towards high school students, this database offers access to an array of practice exams at varying levels. It also includes help with basic Math, Science and English skills, and a section on vocational career preparation.

Flipster (Digital Magazines) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is an easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand that has several popular titles.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
A collection of educational films covering a wide range of disciplines and time periods. Films are 15 minutes to over an hour long, and cover the arts, humanities, sociology and the sciences. Use as part of your research or for your own supplemental learning tool.
Gallup News This link opens in a new window
Start with any of the topics along the News menu bar dropdown lists, or view the trending topics on the Key Topics dropdown. Great for current issues and all articles include data and charts.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times covers articles from 1881 to present and offers full page and article images, ads, and cartoons.
Coverage: Dec. 4, 1881 to present.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's newspaper source with the same search interface, this database Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
ProQuest Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Use this newspapers database to access articles and archives from The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune as far back as 1985. Find your articles by subject, company, person or location.

About Our Topic-Specific Database Collections

The listings of topic-specific databases are different from the 'discipline-specific' databases.

Topic-Specific Databases are collections of databases that align with topics, types of research papers, and other subjects that the LBCC librarians believe might be useful to students in their research.
Subject-Specific Databases align with the majors at Long Beach City College

Use the tabs on the left to explore the subject-specific collections that LBCC Librarians have created.

Keep in Mind

Once you have determined which database you will be searching you can follow the link into that database. Remember a few key things about databases before you venture into them:

subject-specific databases will have a discipline-specific focus
databases are owned by different information corporations
- different databases will have different appearances
- features will be located in different areas across databases, but key features (like citing) will always be a mainstay in any database
not all databases have peer-reviewed resources
- some databases specialize in multimedia like encyclopedias, streaming videos, artwork, and newspaper articl