Use the A-Z and Subject listings to find the best library databases for your research. Have ideas for a new database? Let your Librarian know!
You will likely begin by searching one or more of your keywords in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), also known as OneSearch.
Learn how to use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.
Get started right away! enter keywords into the OneSearch bar below.
Learn how to explore individual academic databases that are relevant to the assignment. We'll learn about general (multi-disciplinary) databases and subject-specific databases.
Or jump in right now. Use these popular multi-disciplinary databases to search for a little bit of everything.
Covering Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Social Sciences, this very popular database is user-friendly, with a clean and simple interface. A "Go To" websites for college students.
A great student oriented database with current events, consumer health, and career information. Topic overviews, reports, biographies, journal articles, and more. Education majors can access Curriculum Standards.
One of the most used and popular academic databases for college students, Proquest uses a student-friendly layout and covers business, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Formats include books, articles, dissertations, videos and blogs. Use the thesaurus tool to use the databases' keywords.
Learn about effective search and evaluation strategies when searching the World Wide Web for relevant and credible sources.
Get started right now with effective "domain" searches:
OneSearch is a great first place to start for your research. You can use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.
OneSearch can help you build a working knowledge.
The first thing you will see is the search bar. In OneSearch this search bar will show you not only books and media held within the physical library shelves, but also articles that appear in academic databases and even in relatively nontraditional ecosystems for information like OpenAccess journals. Therefore, once you enter your keyword search, it will be important that you take a moment to look at the search results and figure out exactly what you are looking at.
A database is a digital container that holds many journals. And in turn, each of those journals contains many articles. This taxonomy allows you to see that articles feed into journals and journals feed into databases. The result is that you can search for literally thousands of peer-reviewed articles on a certain topic within a single database.
High quality peer-reviewed journals like Nature and the Journal of Applied Psychology can appear across multiple databases. Think about how a pair of shoes can be purchased on eBay, Foot Locker, PayLess Shoes. Multiple databases may have access to one and more of the same journal, and all of its articles.
Conversely, some databases are special in that they only carry one type of journal or article. For instance, there are some databases that specialize in carrying old archival, old, newspaper articles. Other databases specialize in primary sources, biographies, and histories. Other databases curate their own articles and can specialize in pro/con arguments and controversial topics.
Check out this video to learn about academic databases.
You can think of OneSearch like Amazon.com. You can find literally almost anything on Amazon and get it almost instantly, right? Items that you can find at Target, Aldo, and even unique collectibles might be on Amazon, making it your one-stop-shop.
Think of OneSearch as your one-stop-shop. it will have a little bit of everything for everyone. Best of all, OneSearch connects to many of the LBCC databases, so you can access mainstays like EBSCO, ProQuest, and JSTOR all from the OneSearch interface. This type of meta search is called a "discovery search" in the world of libraries..
Some issues that are found in LB are:
When you don’t know exactly which database to start off your search in, you can always visit a general database. The chances are really good that it will have a few articles on your topic. The chances are really good that it will have a few articles on your topic.
Big general retail stores like Target and Walmart offer a wide variety of products. Think of these general multi-disciplinary databases as your go-to "big box" retail store.
Covering Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Social Sciences, this very popular database is user-friendly, with a clean and simple interface. A "Go To" websites for college students.
One of the most used and popular academic databases for college students, Proquest uses a student-friendly layout and covers business, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Formats include books, articles, dissertations, videos and blogs. Use the thesaurus tool to use the databases' keywords.
When the "big box" multi-disciplinary databases don't cut it, you go to a specialty shop. Need designer shoes? Check out Aldo, Looking for mid-century modern furnishing? Head to West Elm. Need a first edition or collectible print? You'll need to go to Frank & Sons for those collectibles.
ust as we would go to specialty stores for unique items, we can go to specialty databases for articles and resources related to our subject! Think of the subject-specific databases like these specialty shops. They can have entire collections that don't show up in OneSearch, and might be exactly what you're looking for.
Your source for career exploration, training & jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. A proud partner of the American job center network.
Use this database for current events research. Known for its unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Especially useful is its pro/con section, which provides opposing viewpoints on controversial issues. There are 44 reports each year, including four expanded reports.
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
One of a few databases dedicated to controversial topics, Issues and Controversies offers an easy to understand summary of the differing perspectives on controversial topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. In addition to articles, it provides court cases, editorials and media as sources of information.
Geared towards vocational careers, this database provides access to information in a variety of ways. Search by job, industry, job outlook. work values, skills and even specific tools used. Also includes a job accommodations section with information for workers with disabilities.
A governmental source, The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides statistical information on an extensive list of careers. Focused more on profiles and less on career guidance, use this information for statistics on job growth and salaries, as well as overviews of work environment and education required.
This database is part of the Ebook Central College Complete collection that includes thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond.
Use this database to study controversial social issues. Includes presentations of opposing viewpoints, as well as the option to find primary sources. The "view related documents" and "view related subjects" options help you expand or narrow your search.
This database covers the Social Sciences and Humanities including Anthropology, Archaeology and Heritage, Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism, Strategic, Defence & Security Studies. Search articles by author, keyword, DOI, and citation, or search journals by subject.
Use these subject terms to conduct advanced searches in OneSearch. You can also collect subject terms and experiment with them in various general and subject-specific databases. Remember, finding a perfect subject term is like a surfer riding the perfect wave; you can often plug it in across databases and search engines to find exactly what you're looking for.
