Skip to Main Content

LibGuides

  • An icon for searching through for books.

    SEARCH FOR
    BOOKS

  • An icon for searching through a database.

    SEARCH FOR
    ARTICLES

  • An icon for the hours of operation.

    HOURS OF
    OPERATION

  • An icon for chatting with a librarian.

    CHAT WITH A
    LIBRARIAN

    • COMM C1000 Professor Valdez LibGuide: Your Course Guide

    Introduction to Public Speaking

    Prompt & Game Plan

     

     

     

     

     

     

    In this course, students learn and apply foundational rhetorical theories and techniques of public speaking in a multicultural democratic society. Students discover, develop, and critically analyze ideas in public discourse through research, reasoning, organization, composition, delivery to a live audience and evaluation of various types of speeches, including informative and persuasive speeches.

     

    Research current news for debate and persuasive speeches

    How to start: 

    • Select your topic
    • Research the issues
      • collect materials: articles, journals, and other materials which will assist with your topic
    • Read about the other side of the argument
    • Defend your point of view and take a stand
    • Be persuasive 
    • Evaluate the basic elements of an argument claim, reasoning, and evidence.
    • Use ethical, culturally-sensitive arguments in oral and written communication 

     

     

     

    The Game Plan

    • First, log into the Viking Portal to ensure the links below work properly.

    • We will use this Course Guide to discuss where and how to find information that is related to your prompt.
    • The side navigation tabs will help you understand how your LBCC Librarians conducted their searches to find information from OneSearch, Academic Databases, and the World Wide Web.
    • You can also "Schedule a Research Consultation" to follow-up with one-on-one research with an LBCC Librarian.
      • Bonus: Use the links below to expand your skills to learn more about searching OneSearch, databases, and the World Wide Web.

    Library Services

     

    Visit: Cite your Research LibGuide for more guidance when citing your work

     

    You can also give the library a call if you have any questions:
    LAC campus:   (562) 938-4231
    TTC campus:  (562) 938-3029

     

    Visit the library page for library hours and more services:  LBCC Library

     

     

    Course Materials provided by your professor

     

     

    Additional Readings:

     

     

    3 Resources We'll Search

    OneSearch

    You will likely begin by searching one or more of your keywords in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), also known as OneSearch.

    Learn how to use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.

    Get started right away! enter keywords into the OneSearch bar below. 

    OneSearch
     

    Individual Databases

    Learn how to explore individual academic databases that are relevant to the assignment. We'll learn about general (multi-disciplinary) databases and subject-specific databases.

    Or jump in right now. Use these popular multi-disciplinary databases to search for a little bit of everything.

    World Wide Web

    Learn about effective search and evaluation strategies when searching the World Wide Web for relevant and credible sources.

    Get started right now with effective "domain" searches:

    Research Orientation Assessment

    Strategies via PDF