For your upcoming essay, you have been asked to choose a nonfiction book that deals with one or more social issues, published since 2000. On the day of the orientations, you will be starting research on one of those issues to research further in-depth.
You have the freedom to choose the direction of your essay. You can create a traditional argument essay, discuss the issue in the context of the way your book is engaging it, discuss the issue as you have firsthand experience with/observation of it, or simply learn more about it.
The only requirements for your essay are that you
You are welcome to use any other research, but the database research is required.
Although the exact wording of the essay prompt has not been finalized, your teacher will be handing it out and going over it with you the hour before you start your orientations.
To help you with your research, you can use this guide and book a research appointment with librarians to find and refine your search terms.
Good luck with your essay!
First, log into the Viking Portal to ensure the links below work properly.
The LBCC Library, like many academic libraries at colleges and universities, lives within the credible web domain of .edu.
The Spectrum of Credibility helps illustrate why your professors want you to use library sources. After all, librarians and scholars have spent decades curating credible resources for students like you to easily access and use.
You will likely begin by searching one or more of your keywords in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), also known as OneSearch.
Learn how to use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.
Get started right away! enter keywords into the OneSearch bar below.
Learn how to explore individual academic databases that are relevant to the assignment. We'll learn about general (multi-disciplinary) databases and subject-specific databases.
Or jump in right now. Use these popular multi-disciplinary databases to search for a little bit of everything.
Covering Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Social Sciences, this very popular database is user-friendly, with a clean and simple interface. A "Go To" websites for college students.
A great student oriented database with current events, consumer health, and career information. Topic overviews, reports, biographies, journal articles, and more. Education majors can access Curriculum Standards.
One of the most used and popular academic databases for college students, Proquest uses a student-friendly layout and covers business, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Formats include books, articles, dissertations, videos and blogs. Use the thesaurus tool to use the databases' keywords.
Learn about effective search and evaluation strategies when searching the World Wide Web for relevant and credible sources.
Get started right now with effective "domain" searches:
