Skip to Main Content

LibGuides

  • An icon for searching through for books.

    SEARCH FOR
    BOOKS

  • An icon for searching through a database.

    SEARCH FOR
    ARTICLES

  • An icon for the hours of operation.

    HOURS OF
    OPERATION

  • An icon for chatting with a librarian.

    CHAT WITH A
    LIBRARIAN

    • ENGL1 Jeanpierre: Gender Roles

    Prompt & Game Plan

    Prompt

    • Option 1--In Virginia Woolf's "If Shakespeare Had A Sister," she details the hypothetical life of a fictional younger sister to William Shakespeare. In doing this, she illustrates the limitations and barriers created by socially constructed gender roles that keep her from being as successful as her older brother despite having the same talent. In the present day, we still notice certain career paths that are dominated by particular genders. In a 4-6 page research paper, explain whether or not this is due to socially constructed gender roles as was the case with Shakespeare's fictional sister. 
    • Option 2--Alice Walker's "In Search of Our Mothers' Gardens," serves as a direct response to Virginia Woolf. While Woolf explains that every woman must have "a room of her own" to be able to write creatively, Walker points out that many Black women, such as Phillis Wheatly, did not even have the privilege to own themselves. Walker's piece clearly serves as a criticism for Woolf's which does not include the challenges of Black women in the conversation she presents. In a 4-6 page research paper, explain why it is important to include marginalized women (such as women of color, disabled women, LGBTQ+ women, etc.) in discussions on gender equity.   

    The Game Plan

    • First, log into the Viking Portal to ensure the links below work properly.

    • We will use this Course Guide to discuss where and how to find information that is related to your prompt.
    • The side navigation tabs will help you understand how your LBCC Librarians conducted their searches to find information from OneSearch, Academic Databases, and the World Wide Web.
    • You can also "Schedule a Research Consultation" to follow-up with one-on-one research with an LBCC Librarian.
      • Bonus: Use the links below to expand your skills to learn more about searching OneSearch, databases, and the World Wide Web.

    Spectrum of Credibility

    The LBCC Library, like many academic libraries at colleges and universities, lives within the credible web domain of .edu.

    The Spectrum of Credibility helps illustrate why your professors want you to use library sources. After  all, librarians and scholars have spent decades curating credible resources for students like you to easily access and use.

    3 Resources We'll Search

    OneSearch

    You will likely begin by searching one or more of your keywords in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), also known as OneSearch.

    Learn how to use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.

    Get started right away! enter keywords into the OneSearch bar below. 

    OneSearch
     

    Individual Databases

    Learn how to explore individual academic databases that are relevant to the assignment. We'll learn about general (multi-disciplinary) databases and subject-specific databases.

    Or jump in right now. Use these popular multi-disciplinary databases to search for a little bit of everything.

    World Wide Web

    Learn about effective search and evaluation strategies when searching the World Wide Web for relevant and credible sources.

    Get started right now with effective "domain" searches: