It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A biography database searchable not just by name but by gender, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, birthplace and place of death. Biographies are also categorized into occupational and significant historical periods.
The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
This database provides the birth and death dates of over 6 million living and deceased Americans, mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries, It also lists sources, so you can use this to find material for your research on historically important individuals.
Use this database for your U.S. and World History studies. While providing fewer articles than Gale OneFile History, Gale in Context provides an engaging and easy to use interface that offers overviews and photos of topics, and clear and accessible links to resource options like primary sources, videos, reference and audio formats. Sources provide contextual information around a topic rather than in-depth information about a specific topic.
Use this visually appealing database to search primary sources like monographs, newspapers and maps covering Latin America and the Caribbean. Browse by collection or topic, or do your own specific advanced search using the filters.