Skip to Main Content

LibGuides

  • An icon for searching through for books.

    SEARCH FOR
    BOOKS

  • An icon for searching through a database.

    SEARCH FOR
    ARTICLES

  • An icon for the hours of operation.

    HOURS OF
    OPERATION

  • An icon for chatting with a librarian.

    CHAT WITH A
    LIBRARIAN

    • ENGL1 Fitzgerald: Reading/Writing Reform

    Course Guide Template ENGL 1 Lisa Fitzgerald

    Prompt & Game Plan

    Prompt

    Write a proposal argument in which you present a problem in education and then call for a change/reform to the way that problem could be addressed (it may be helpful for you to choose a specific grade level in order to narrow the scope of your research and focus). Please use a minimum of four scholarly sources (3 of which must come from outside of our class reading). Below are some ideas to consider:

    • In what ways does social class contribute to students’ educational experiences, and what can be done to lessen the gap?
    • To what extent does teaching formulaic writing (five-paragraph essay) impair students' creativity; does the practice still have a place?
    • How might students benefit from being encouraged to practice personal writing/journaling?
    •  What dangers come from the myth that good writers are just born that way and what alternative teaching methods should be emphasized?
    • To what extent would students beneficial from teachers creating lessons that focus on Freire's problem posing?
    • How would students grow more fully as writers if they learned about the importance of revision?
    • What might be the dangers and/or benefits of education being seen as a consumer good? Should students be seen as consumers?
    • Is the safe space movement on college campuses neglecting free speech for all? 

    The Game Plan

    • First, log into the Viking Portal to ensure the links below work properly.

    • We will use this Course Guide to discuss where and how to find information that is related to your prompt.
    • The side navigation tabs will help you understand how your LBCC Librarians conducted their searches to find information from OneSearch, Academic Databases, and the World Wide Web.
    • You can also "Schedule a Research Consultation" to follow-up with one-on-one research with an LBCC Librarian.
      • Bonus: Use the links below to expand your skills to learn more about searching OneSearch, databases, and the World Wide Web.

    Spectrum of Credibility

    The LBCC Library, like many academic libraries at colleges and universities, lives within the credible web domain of .edu.

    The Spectrum of Credibility helps illustrate why your professors want you to use library sources. After  all, librarians and scholars have spent decades curating credible resources for students like you to easily access and use.

    3 Resources We'll Search

    OneSearch

    You will likely begin by searching one or more of your keywords in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC), also known as OneSearch.

    Learn how to use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.

    Get started right away! enter keywords into the OneSearch bar below. 

    OneSearch
     

    Individual Databases

    Learn how to explore individual academic databases that are relevant to the assignment. We'll learn about general (multi-disciplinary) databases and subject-specific databases.

    Or jump in right now. Use these popular multi-disciplinary databases to search for a little bit of everything.

    World Wide Web

    Learn about effective search and evaluation strategies when searching the World Wide Web for relevant and credible sources.

    Get started right now with effective "domain" searches: