Using the OneSearch database you can find books, ebooks, articles, and other secondary sources for your research project.
Be sure to explore using these limiters:
When you don’t know exactly which database to start off your search in, you can always visit a general database. The chances are really good that it will have a few articles on your topic. The chances are really good that it will have a few articles on your topic.
Covering Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Social Sciences, this very popular database is user-friendly, with a clean and simple interface. A "Go To" websites for college students.
Known for its focus on primary sources, JStor is popular for Humanities (especially literary criticism) and Social Sciences. It also provides articles in several languages, and a text-analyzer tool that allows users to upload documents, then searches relevant articles and books.
When the ulti-disciplinary databases don't cut it, we can go to specialty databases for articles and resources related to our subject! Think of the subject-specific databases like these specialty shops. They can have entire collections that don't show up in OneSearch, and might be exactly what you're looking for.
A subject-specific database from EBSCO, you can search your topic using several different filters to get the most relevant results, as well as by time period, by entering in years.
A very visually-focused database, InfoBase offers access to primary sources, maps/graphs, videos, slideshows, and groups subjects into categories such as wars, eras and societal issues.
Some of our academic databases specialize in eBooks and can be great places to conduct searches with your search terms.
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Find over 40,000 e-books in all subjects, though most focus on Business and Social Sciences. This collection also includes many diversity, equity, and inclusion Ebooks. Search for textbooks or supplemental reading. Accessible with phone or tablet.
A good source for History study, use this site to find primary sources by time period. Also use to find fiction literature for your Literature courses or leisure reading.
This database is part of the Ebook Central College Complete collection that includes thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond.
OneSearch is a great first place to start for your research. You can use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and other media that are housed within the LBCC Library, academic databases, and even at external publisher sites.
OneSearch can help you build a working knowledge.
The first thing you will see is the search bar. In OneSearch this search bar will show you not only books and media held within the physical library shelves, but also articles that appear in academic databases and even in relatively nontraditional ecosystems for information like OpenAccess journals. Therefore, once you enter your keyword search, it will be important that you take a moment to look at the search results and figure out exactly what you are looking at.
Use this introductory video to understand how to find eBooks using OneSearch and academic databases.
