Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library
Research Guides

  • An icon for searching through for books.

    SEARCH FOR
    BOOKS

  • An icon for searching through a database.

    SEARCH FOR
    ARTICLES

  • An icon for the hours of operation.

    HOURS OF
    OPERATION

  • An icon for chatting with a librarian.

    CHAT WITH A
    LIBRARIAN

  • Asian Pacific Islander Desi At LBCC: APID Community Resources

    A guide towards cultural diversity on campus

    Quotes

    Stop AAPI hate
    Yuri quote

    WELCOME

    The United States is an immigrant country, it is not a surprise therefore to find people of many races on campus and in our community. This guide offers resources to help us know more about each other. This initial page is a gateway to more books, videos, journal articles and interesting websites. The guide has interesting places to visit for each ethnic group, topics of concern as well as local and national organizations that support our ethnicity and culture. An awareness and understanding where each one came from will help us live harmoniously with each other.  

    The creation of this guide was made possible by the outstanding support and contributions of the following wonderful people:

    Jeffrey Sabol

    Stacey Toda David Goto
    Paul Creason Ramchandran Sethuraman Ariane Le
    Allison Nguyen Diana Ogimachi Amy La
    Nenita Buenaventura Katherine Conchada Teila Robertson
    Vivian Linderman Eleanor L. Sonido  

     

    Terms that may help us

    There are a number of terms that are used to denote Asian and Pacific Islander populations, including Asian Pacific American (APA), Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI), and Asian American Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (AANHPI). We use the term APIDA, which stands for Asian Pacific Islander Desi American, as a pan-ethnic classification that intentionally includes South Asians (Desi) as part of our community. There is a great diversity of identities and ethnicities encompassed under the APIDA umbrella, including East Asian, South Asian, Southeast Asian, and Pacific Islander.

    • East Asians refer to people from China (including Macau and Hong Kong), Korea, Japan, Okinawa, Taiwan, and Mongolia.
    • South Asians refer to people from the following countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Ethnic groups include Sindhi, Gujarati, Punjabi, Tamil, and many others.
    • Southeast Asians refer to people from the following countries and ethnic groups: Burma, Brunei, Cambodia (Khmer, Cham, KhmerLoeu), Indonesia, Laos (Hmong,Lao, Lao Loum, Iu Mien, Khmu, Tai Dam, Tai Leu, and many other ethnic groups), Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Philippines, and Vietnam (Vietnamese, Khmer Kampuchea Krom, Montagnards).
    • Pacific Islanders refer to those whose origins are the original peoples of Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia. Polynesia includes Hawaii (Native Hawaiian), Samoa (Samoan), American Samoa (Samoan), Tokelau (Tokelauan), Tahiti (Tahitian), and Tonga (Tongan). Micronesia includes Guam (Guamanian or Chamorro), Mariana Islands (Mariana Islander), Saipan (Saipanese), Palau (Palauan), Yap (Yapanese), Chuuk (Chuukese), Pohnpei (Pohnpeian), Kosrae (Kosraean), Marshall Islands (Marshallese), and Kiribati (I-Kiribat). Melanesia includes Fiji (Fijian), Papau New Guinea (Papua New Guinean), Solomon Islands (Solomon Islander), and Vanuatu (Ni-Vanuatu).

    SOURCES: SEARAC, Southeast Asian American Statistical Profile, 2004; https://www.empoweredpi.org/; https://www.api-gbv.org/resources/census-data-api-identities/

    Resources

    These are just some of the resources available in our library. Please click the type of resource you are interested in to get to the page where we have more listing.

     

    Videos from the Library Databases

    I Learn America

    Please log-in to access the video from Kanopy

    Books : use our catalog to find them
     

    book: immigrant America

    Please log-in to access book online.

     

    Journals and Magazines

     

    Magazine: Cross Currents 

    CrossCurrents: Newsmagazine of the UCLA Asian American Studies Center . Free on-line  peer reviewed  and accessible thru its link : Library catalog

    India Today , New Delhi, published by Living Media Limited; Full text is available from Proquest

     

    Magazine : Contemporary Pacific

    Contemporary Pacific , published by University of Hawaii. Full text available through EBSCOHost from 2003 to the present.

     

    Asian Americans : Population

     

    2010 Census of Asian Americans in Los Angeles CountyLos Angeles County Map

     

    Pie Chart

    Pictures to inspire

    Desi image

    Desi

    middle eastern

    Middle eastern

    children

    Api children

    japanese

    Japan

    Visit Local Places

    Cambodia Town is the official name for a roughly one-mile long business corridor along Anaheim Street between Atlantic and Junipero avenues in the Eastside of Long Beach, California. Click here to learn more about the people and the place. Map to Cambodia town.

    Historic Filipino Townwas one of the first areas in Southern California cultivated by Filipinos in the early 20th century. It was formerly known as Little Manila with shops and eateries along Temple and Beverly Blvd in the city of Los Angeles. For more details, please visit the place, here is a map

    Los Angeles Chinatown is a neighborhood steeped in culture and history. It is especially busy during the Chinese New Year, Chinatown Summer Nights events and Moon Festival. You can also visit the Chinese American Museum to find out more information about the reason why Old Chinatown disappeared and New Chinatown was established. The Museum is located near the intersection of the 101 and 110 Freeway.

    Pacific Island Ethnic Art Museum's mission is to amplify the collective wisdom of the people of Oceania through a permanent collection, educational programs, rotating exhibits, and living arts. Their purpose is to connect the community to resources and foster intercultural exchanges with appreciation and respect. Here is a link to the website and a link to a map to visit.

    Little Tokyo Historic District, is an ethnically Japanese American district in downtown Los Angeles. Besides finding sushi bars and groceries, one will find the Japanese American National Museum and the Japanese American Cultural Community not too far from each other. To learn more please click the museum link or go visit the museum itself, here is a map to the place.

    Little India is an Indian enclave in the city of Artesia, California. It is the largest Indian enclave in southern California with shops grocery stores and restaurants that cater to the needs of our Desi friends. Click here for the map.

    Little Saigon covers three square miles of an area split between Garden Grove, Santa Ana, and Fountain Valley, in Orange County. A good starting point of any visit in the area is along Bolsa Avenue [ click here for a map], which is the center of Little Saigon. Boasting 4,000 Vietnamese-American businesses, including hundreds of shops and restaurants, it is said to be the closest copy of the same city in Vietnam. Little Saigon is a fantastic cultural detour to any vacation in Southern California. For more information you may visit the night market.

    Koreatown -  Korean-dominated ethnic enclave within central Los Angeles, California. It is centered near Eighth Street and Irolo Street, west of MacArthur Park, please see map. Besides shops and eating places,  Wiltern Theater a famous art deco venue is within the area. Those who like Korean barbecue would find late-night disco places with this popular menu.

     

     

    Suggested Links

    Suggest a Resource for the APID Library Resource Guide

    If you would like to suggest a resource to be included in the APID Library Resource Guide please submit this form.