This is the "HOME" page of the "Research and the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research and the Library   Tags: library, research, research_paper  

Presents information about the library and basic knowledge on how to research.
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2016 URL: http://lbcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=685572 Print Guide RSS Updates

HOME Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

A huge amount of the Library's annual budget is spent for books, tools, devices and other materials that would support the learning environment of the College. It is therefore important to know what these resources are so that we can maximize their use and reach our individual goals as students of this college.  It is the aim of this guide is to help you, get an access to these resources. A description of the library resources will be presented in detail in the succeeding pages. To get to the various parts of this guide, you will need to click the tabs on top of the page. 

 

 

Facts about the LBCC Library

Here are important things to remember about your LBCC Library

  • LBCC has two campuses and a library on each campus: the LAC campus at Carson and Clark streets and PCC campus along the Pacific Coast Highway in Long Beach.
  • The two libraries belong to one library system thus you may borrow any material from any of the two libraries. You may also return materials to any of the two.
  • The libraries have the same catalog. If you find a book in PCC but you are at LAC, such material can be transported to the campus of your choice.
  • Long Beach Library's Catalog is called WorldCat. Through this, we are able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services..To start any search using WorldCat, we can click FIND at the navigation tab on top of the screen or click BOOKS AND MEDIA  at the middle of the screen. this would bring the search box of WorldCat.
  • Library services and materials maybe accessed online.
 

Getting Started

A great deal of college work is centered on research. It is the aim of this guide to help you with any of your research activity. You will then find suggested books, articles, and websites that can be accessed free from the LBCC Library and from the Internet.  It is also the aim of this guide to help you get a deeper understanding of research and evidenced based practices as applied the field of Nursing and Allied Health. 

  • Research - as a common term, it is an investigative activity meant to discover answers to questions or inquiry.
  • A dictionary definition : " to collect information about something in great detail" ( NTC's Super-mini English Dictionary. (2002). Chicago: McGraw-Hill

 

 

Qualitative or Quantitative information?

Determining if a Research Study is Quantitative or Qualitative

 

Section

Quantitative

Qualitative

Purpose

To test a hypothesis or answer a research question.

To understand the whole of the human experience to enhance understanding of the human health experience.

Humans are viewed as holistic beings.

Hypothesis/Research  Question

Identifies variables that are to be measured

Discusses phenomenon to be explored.

Research Design

Experimental, Descriptive, Quasi- Experimental, Observational, Pre-Post Test

Phenomenology, ethnography, grounded  theory,  case study

Sample

Relatively larger sample chosen using probability or convenience sampling.

Relatively smaller sample selected purposively.

Instruments

Questionnaires, surveys, physiological instruments, demographic data.

Audio/video tapes, unstructured interviews, observation

Data Analysis

Describes statistical tests used.

Includes terms such as constant comparative analysis. Data analysis is based upon research design, example phenomenoloQy, ethnographic.

Data Collection

Use of a data collection tool, questionnaire, or survey to collect data

Uses interviews that are transcribed verbatim for data collection or observations.

Discussion of findings

Tables of statistics and numbers (results)

Quotes from key sources. Will discuss main themes or theory that emerged.

Qualitative Research Articles

If you want to limit your search to qualitative studies, try using one of the following terms/phrases in your advanced search:

  • ethnography
  •  "case study"
  • qualitative
  • "focus group"
  • interview
  • "oral history"
  • phenomenology
  • "participant observation"
  • "content analysis"
  • experiential
  • "grounded theory"

           

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Eleanor Sonido

Where to find E-books

The library has Ebook databases which are searchable. You can also get E-books directly from the Web. Youneed to be logged-into the library databases to use the first two links below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip