StudyGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | W | #

A
A look at databases
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Mar 20, 2017
A close look at the databases offered by LBCC Library. A touch on the structure of a database, how to search it and pointers on how to select a database for research.
A Student's Guide to the Public Library
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
Using the public library for research and beyond.
About LBCC's Library Services
by Karen Vogel, Colin Williams - Last Updated Aug 19, 2015
Use this guide to learn about specific library services like Information Competency, Textbooks on Reserve, the Library Technician Program, Orientations, Workshops, and more!
Accessing e-Books
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Nov 5, 2016
Guide on how to access LBCC Library's e-Books (affiliated with EBSCOhost eBooks).
African American Literature
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Sep 17, 2015
A guide providing library and internet resources for students conducting research on African American literature and related topics.
American Women's History
by Charlene Nichols, Nu Phan - Last Updated Jul 28, 2014
This research guide pulls together a variety of resources you may want to use if you are conducting research on American Women's History.
Anthropology
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Jan 19, 2016
information, search suggestions, tips, and links to help you find resources in Anthropology.
Argumentative & Pro/Con Research
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 15, 2017
Art -- Research
by Clarke Jett - Last Updated Sep 20, 2016
The purpose of this subject guide is to provide students conducting research in Art with available resources from the LBCC Library, online databases, and via the Web.
Art 1 - Art & Civilization
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 19, 2016
a research guide for Prof. Beth's Art 1 students
Art Appreciation (Art 10) Spring 2017
by Gabriel Beeler - Last Updated Mar 6, 2017
Art Appreciation (Art 10) Spring 2017
Art History and Archaeology
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Sep 2, 2014
ARTstor
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
A guide to using the Digital Image Library - ARTstor
Astronomy
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
This guide was created to support LBCC students' research in astronomy
B
Baking & Pastry Arts
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated Mar 13, 2017
Biology 41
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Jun 11, 2013
This guide provides resources to assist in the research of plants and their uses. This includes medicinal and food uses, appearance of the plant in the visual arts, music and literature.
Body Image & Media
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
a resource guide exploring the relationship of body image and media
C
Careers And Job Searching
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Jul 18, 2013
This guide aims to lead you to sources that useful for investigating and pursuing a job or career choice. The sources covered include books, e-books, website and subscribed database, a available only to LBCC students, faculty, and staff.
CDECE 1
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 5, 2016
This guide was created to support Professor Lang's CDECE 1 course and library orientation session.
Celebrating Native American Heritage Month
by Antoinette Avila, Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
This research guide pulls together a variety of resources and tips for finding information on Native American heritage.
Citation
by Colin Williams - Last Updated Jul 28, 2015
Learn different citation formats, rules, and shortcuts.
College English Skills
by Parisa Samaie - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
ENG 801 A/B Library Orientation
College tools toward success
by Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Aug 4, 2016
Focus on ideas and tools to help students complete college courses.
Communication 10
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Mar 22, 2017
This guide was created to support Professor Castro's Communication 10 course and library orientation session
Computer Science
by Gabriel Beeler - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
Culinary Arts
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
E
Economics
by Gabriel Beeler - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Selected resources, search suggestions, tips, and links to help you find resources in Economics.
Empirical articles
by Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Aug 21, 2016
A guide for discussion of empirical articles.
ENGL 1: Compare & Contrast: Food, Diet, & Health
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
This guide is intended to assist students enrolled in Professor J. Dunn's English 1 course at LBCC. It is provided as a library orientation supplement and covers resources for materials related to food, diet, and health .
English 801A
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
This guide was created to support Professor Aguirre's English 801A research paper assignment.
ESL 271
by David Goto - Last Updated Oct 5, 2014
ESL 34X / Library 1
by David Goto - Last Updated Aug 16, 2014
F
Family & Migration Histories
by Colin Williams - Last Updated Nov 6, 2014
Learn library's website and databases to research your family history of migration. Key ideas include push-pull factors in different countries, print & electronic resources, and searching for possible historical motivations to migrate.
Farming and Organic Foods
by Gabriel Beeler - Last Updated Sep 8, 2016
Fashion Design and Merchandising
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
A guide to students interested in finding reliable information sources for Fashion Design and Merchandising.
Federal Budget Process
by Charlene Nichols - Last Updated Aug 4, 2014
This research guide will lead scholars to a wide range of print and online resources that describe the federal budget process.
Finding Books
by Karen Vogel, Colin Williams - Last Updated Jul 30, 2015
This will help you find books at the Long Beach City College Libraries.
G
Gender and Culture
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
This research guide pulls together a variety of resources you may want to use if you are conducting research on the issues of Gender and Culture.
Geography
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
Geology: Selected Resources
by Charlene Nichols - Last Updated Jul 28, 2014
Globalization
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
This guide was created to support Professor Weaver's English 1 course and library orientation session
Guide for Gender and Television: a research project for English 1
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
A Library guide to help English 1 students in their Assignment 4 with Professor Jeffrey Bohn.
Guide for Lib202
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Sep 14, 2014
This guide will help students work on their first portfolio.
H
Hispanic Literature and Writers
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Sep 12, 2013
History of the British Isles
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
Homeland Security
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
This guide provides resources to assist in the research of Homeland Security and related subjects.
Homelessness
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
library (print) and electronic resources on homelessness
Hotel & Restaurant Management
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
I
Informative Speech
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 15, 2017
Links, and Web sites to help you find resources and researching for informative speeches.
Internet Fraud and Cyber Safety
by Nu Phan - Last Updated Jul 8, 2014
Resources related to Internet fraud and how to protect yourself and your information while online.
Islam
by Parisa Samaie - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
Islam
L
Latin American History
by Madeline Pena Feliz - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
A reference guide created for students in the SPAN 25B course.
Law Resources
by Charlene Nichols - Last Updated Jul 28, 2014
A helpful subject guide to finding legal information.
LIB 1 Winter Intersession 2015
by David Goto - Last Updated Jan 30, 2015
LIB1 Course Guide - on-campus classes
by Gabriel Beeler, David Goto, Colin Williams - Last Updated Nov 30, 2016
A Course Guide for LIB1 in-person
Library 1 - PCC Face to Face: Fall 2015
by David Goto - Last Updated Nov 28, 2015
Library 1 - PCC Face to Face: Spring 2015
by David Goto - Last Updated Apr 13, 2015
Library 1: Fall 2016 David Goto
by David Goto - Last Updated Oct 26, 2016
Library 1: Summer 2016 David Goto
by David Goto - Last Updated Oct 20, 2016
Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers
by Dele Ladejobi - Last Updated Dec 9, 2010
Want to know about Library of Congress Call Numbers and how they are utilized at the LBCC libraries?
Library of Congress (LC) Classification Outline
by Dele Ladejobi - Last Updated Dec 9, 2010
Here you will find the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification.
M
Medieval History
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
Mexican American Studies
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011
This guide offers reliable and trustworthy information for the study of Mexican Americans.
MLA Citation Guide
by Parisa Samaie - Last Updated Oct 29, 2014
Money and Human Beings
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated May 7, 2014
This research guide was created to support Prof. Dean Ramser's English 105 research assignment.
Music
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Oct 31, 2014
N
Nuclear Power
by Charlene Nichols - Last Updated Jul 28, 2014
Learn more about the science, technology, politics and economics behind the controversial topic of nuclear energy.
Nursing Research
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Jan 14, 2014
O
Obedience
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Mar 14, 2017
This guide was created to support Professor Lisa Goddard-Fitzgerald's English 1 course and library orientation session. This should help students in their study of obedience and disobedience.
Our Library Resources
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Aug 4, 2016
This guide will help students go through the common library resources available on campus or online.
P
Photography
by Madeline Pena Feliz, Ward Smith - Last Updated Dec 3, 2013
This guide is designed to help students in the fine arts field begin their research in photography at the LAC Library and on the World Wide Web.
Poetry
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Sep 9, 2014
Poetry is as old as humanity itself. In every era and culture--from oral epics to Shakspeare to Tupac Shakur, people have recorded and shared their thoughts and observations in verse.
Political Activism in America
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Aug 4, 2014
Psychology 1
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Mar 26, 2016
This guide was created to support Professor Norman's Psychology 1 course and library orientation session
R
Racism and Class
by Karen Vogel - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Renewable Energy
by Ted Kane, Ward Smith - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
Research and the Library
by Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Aug 4, 2016
Presents information about the library and basic knowledge on how to research.
Research Topic Ideas
by Karen Vogel, Colin Williams - Last Updated Aug 12, 2014
Need help in picking a research topic? Here are a few ideas..
S
Soccer Resources
by Ruben Amador - Last Updated Nov 3, 2010
Social Responsibility
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated May 11, 2016
This guide was created to support Professor Lamas's English 1 research assignment.
Sociology
by Kolap Samel - Last Updated Jan 22, 2016
Links, and Web sites to help you find resources in sociology.
Statistics
by Bally Dailey - Last Updated May 24, 2016
A helpful subject guide to finding Statistics information.
T
Terrorism
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
This research guide will lead scholars to a wide range of print and online resources dealing with 21st century terrorists and terrorism
Things to know about copyright
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Sep 1, 2016
The important policies governing the Copyright Law of the U.S. is emphasized here; particularly those that concern students and instructors. Special mention is made about the Copyright policies for the Library Course Reserves.
W
Web 2.0: Blogging
by Madeline Pena Feliz, Ward Smith - Last Updated Sep 20, 2013
Learn how to author your own web content via blogs with the use of Web 2.0 software.
Writing a research paper
by Nenita Buenaventura, Eleanor Sonido - Last Updated Sep 15, 2013
This is guide for the final project of Lib2 students. It should also help any student to start a research paper or write a simple essay.
#
Celebrating National Poetry Month
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
Celebrating Women's History Month
by Parisa Samaie - Last Updated Sep 10, 2014
"Brave New World" by Aldous Huxley
by Ted Kane - Last Updated Feb 24, 2016
2015 Nursing : Code Green
by Nenita Buenaventura - Last Updated Aug 22, 2016
An orientation guide for Nursing and Allied Health students.

Social Networking