This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art History and Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://lbcc.libguides.com/art_history_archeology_resources Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Few Relevant Books

Please click on the book cover to see its availability.

American Indian art: form and tradition.

How to look at Japanese art

Islamic art and architecture 650-1250

Maya art and architecture

 

Art History and Archaeology LibGuide


Welcome!

This research guide pulls together a variety of resources you may want to use if you are conducting research on the subject of art history and archeology.

Want to know where to start your research? Click on the above tabs to find lists of books, ebooks, journal titles and recommended databases, and recommended reliable websites.

Have questions? Feel free to comment or ask questions about this research guide by clicking on this Send Email link. Feel free to contact a librarian anytime you need assistance.

Good luck in your research.

 

Recommended Reference Books

The Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts

The Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts

by Gordon Campbell;
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, ©2006.
Contains information drawn from Grove Art Online and new material written by G. Campbel
Icons of American architecture : from the Alamo to the World Trade Center
by Donald Langmead
Publisher: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009.
An alphabetical listing of twenty-four American buildings and structures whose history and legends have become part of popular culture including the Alamo, the Brooklyn Bridge, Independence Hall, the Lincoln Memorial, and the World Trade Center.
 
  
The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture 
by Jonathan Bloom; Sheila Blair;
Publisher: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more.
 
 
 
 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ted Kane
Contact Info
Send Email
 

More Reference Books

 
The Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture
by Gordon Campbell;
Publisher: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, ©2007.
Covering all aspects of classical art from the Etruscans to the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. 
 
 
 
The dictionary of art
Publisher: New York : Grove, 1996.
 
 
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip