This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Fashion Design and Merchandising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fashion Design and Merchandising   Tags: business, fashion, fashion design, fashion merchandising  

A guide to students interested in finding reliable information sources for Fashion Design and Merchandising.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://lbcc.libguides.com/Fashion_Design_and_Merchandising Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Collections and Exhibits

textile

Digital collections-that are available on-line, courtesy of the University of Alberta Museums. The site has a searchable clothing and textile database which contains over 18,00 object records. 

 


 

Caftan

Kent State University Museum has an online exhibit of clothes and costumes from various countries. Use the search box to find your interests. Photo above is a Tunisian wedding dress. 

Suggested Tools

Please click the button beside the term for more information.

  • Dictionaries and glossaries  
      
    From Kent State University: a listing of dictionaries and glossaries useful for any research on fashion and design.
  • Free videos  
      
    Offers free videos.
  • FIDM Blog
    Learn from various people who have the same interest as you do: fashion and design. Read and see the illustrations and pictures that are being discussed.
  • Occupational Handbook
    Type the word Fashion in the search box at the top right side of the site and find out the related jobs you can get into with your course.
 

Welcome!

This research guide pulls together a variety of resources you may want to use if you are conducting research on Fashion Design and Merchandising.

Want to know where to start you research?  Click on the above tabs to find lists of books, journal titles, and recommended databases, primary sources and recommended authoritative websites.

Have questions?  Feel free to comment or ask questions about this research guide by clicking above on the PAGE COMMENTS link.  Feel free to contact a librarian any time you need assistance. 

Good luck in your research.

 

showroom images

   Fashion model
   
 

Fashion shows, designers' collections and showrooms. The website has  a listing of famous designers and a sampling of their collections. 


Click here for Spring 2012runaway shows.

 

  


 Let us go and visit a nearby local fashion museum and gallery.

  • Please click the picture to visit the Fashion Institute of Design Merchandizing and Galleries.

FIDM

                                      


  • The Fashion Institute of Technology in New York has this online collection. Visit their museum online from your computers. Please click the picture below.  

textile22

      

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Nenita Buenaventura
    Contact Info
    Nenita B. Buenaventura-L114 (Y18)
    Access Serv. & Elec. Res. Librn.
    Long Beach City College
    4901 E. Carson St.
    Long Beach, Ca 90808
    P: 562-938-4576
    F: 562-938-4777
    Send Email
     

    Research Tips

    These are reminders to save you time and energy with your research.

    • Try the Writing Tips for Research Papers from the the Library Homepage; click here to see.
    • If you are unable to proceed through your research, try the LBCC Library Ask a Librarian Service, or contact a Librarian via email, phone or by visiting the library's Reference Desk.
    • Do not forget to click the OFF-CAMPUS Access when you are working from home.

    For general books about Fashion Design and Merchandising, browse the shelves at the following Library of Congress call numbers: GT500 and TT 505 area. 

    Tips: Subject searches using the  Library of Congress subject headings are as follows:

    • fashion
    • costumes
    • clothing and dress
    • costume designers biography
    • costume designers [country or state]
    • fashion designers biography
    • fashion designers [country or state]

    Also search by designer name, e.g. Adrian, Chanel, Geoffrey Beene, etc.


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip